What do you consider a "good deal"?

fatcat04

AHHHHHH!! Y'all are giving me the cruise itch!! All this talk abt good deals... it is driving me mad I tell you, MAD!! :D

But I can't book next years cruise on the Costa Med yet as our plans are not finalized. Don't know if my parents are going with us or not or what hubbies convention schedule is yet. Boo hoo... just gotta keep dreamin'.

My question....

I am a complete amateur at this cruise booking stuff. Y'all are talking abt "good deals" and I am trying to figure out what a good price would be on a panoramic suite on the Med for an Eastern Carib cruise next year. What is your idea of a "good deal" when booking several months out? Also, do you find your best deals on Costa's site or with a TA?

I have no reference because we booked our March 07 cruise on the Med in Feb 07 (totally last minute) and got what I considered a really good deal at $899 per adult and $350 for the kid for a midship panoramic suite.

When I called the TA, I was going to just book a verandah cabin on the cruise ($599 per adult) but TA just about jumped out of her chair when she saw the suite rates so I got the idea that that was a really good deal and booked it. Glad I did too... the suite was well... sweet. We felt quite spoiled. :)

Those are great prices for the Caribbean; I would look for similar prices as long as your sailing in the off season (as you did before). Any TA can get your the prices on Costa's website. Also if the price drops any good TA can easily call Costa and get you credit. I would find a travel agent who is used to dealing with Costa on some level to ensure you can get refunds if there is a price drop.