Long Beach Pre Cruise Stay

hallsuk2

Hello,

I have booked a cruise for Oct 2008 on Serenade of the Seas through the canal.It was originally departing San Diego and I had planned 3 or 4 days in San Diego pre cruise.For reasons I am not sure as yet it would appear that it will now leave Los Angeles(assuming San Pedro).This has not been confirmed yet by my U.K. agent.This news has come from the roll call on this board.However I am trying to plan ahead and am looking at Los Angeles for a pre cruise stay.

I have no experience of Los Angeles but after some investigation today I am considering the Long Beach area.(Queen Mary being one of the attractions)Is this feasible to get a cab on departure day to the San Pedro pier.Can someone give me some idea of distance and costs involved?Do you think the Long Beach area has enough to keep me occupied

Any input would be gratefully received.

Thank You,

Iain

There's alot to do in Long Beach, it's a destination all by itself! There's a great Aquarium, the Queen Mary, lots of shops and restaurants, theatres, arcades etc... It's very close to San Pedro, about a 5 to 10 minute drive across harbor.

If you do end up leaving from San Pedro LA instead of San Diego think about getting a precruise hotel in Long Beach. I have stayed in San Pedro and Long Beach. Much prefer LB. It is only about 10 minutes from the pier and I would guess about a $20-$30 cab/car ride. (I could be wrong on that as I took a shuttle service.) There are plenty of cabs and the hotel guys can call you one when you are ready to go in the morning. I have stayed at the Hilton, Westin and the Hyatt Regency. The Hyatt is right at the marina with plenty of shops and restaurants within walking distance. The aquarium in LB is fun and do-able the morning of the cruise.