Juneau: Non-heli glacier trek or guide's choice

WesC

Hey all,

Going to be in Juneau in late August and don't want to bust the budget with a helicopter glacier trek. We're considering either the guide's choice hike around Mendenhall or a glacier trek/climb with Above and Beyond. Any help would be great!:)

• 3 years later...

I cannot compare these two because we did only one, the glacier trek with Above and Beyond Alaska, last August. We went as a family of 2 adults, one teen (16) and one preteen (12). The kids were much better at the hike than the adults. We all enjoyed it very much. Do you have any specific questions?

Did you ever decide what to do? I'm headed for my first cruise this July and am debating the same two options. Advice??

I was born and raised in Juneau and now live in the lower 48. I'm a pilot so have flown over the glacier many times. Whenever I go back to Juneau, which I did this past July I go hiking at the glacier. This isn't something that needs a tour guide as the trails are well marked. Having done both I still think I'd choose the hike. To stand by the glacier with the blue shades of ice is beautiful. Wonderful picture opportunities. Hope that helps.

I was born and raised in Juneau and now live in the lower 48. I'm a pilot so have flown over the glacier many times. Whenever I go back to Juneau, which I did this past July I go hiking at the glacier. This isn't something that needs a tour guide as the trails are well marked. Having done both I still think I'd choose the hike. To stand by the glacier with the blue shades of ice is beautiful. Wonderful picture opportunities. Hope that helps.