Camera for mural?

I have a particular idea of what I'd like for a wall mural in my home. The wall is appx. 13' x 8'.

In over two years of browsing ready-made murals and photos for custom work, I have yet to find what I have in mind except for photos that will cost me $500+ just to have the copyright for one mural.

For that price, I've decided I can put that money towards a nice camera myself and get exactly the mural photo I want.

Now for my question. I own a Kodak EasyShare DX7590 5.0mp 10x zoom. This camera has served me well for a hobby point and shoot, giving very clear photos for the past 3 years. However, I don't know that it will do well for a mural. For an upcoming vacation, I hate to have the perfect shot, and not have the right equipment.

I recently visited a camera store to discuss purchasing a DSLR camera, though I am new to anything that requires manual focusing. The salesman told me I really didn't need to spend a fortune on a new camera body and lenses to get a great photo for a mural of the size described. He recommended just upgrading to a Panasonic Lumix DMC-TZ3 7.2mp or a SonyCybershot DSC-H7 8.0mp and not to spend the money for more camera than I need other than this mural obsession I have. The Panasonic is his first recommendation with a bit wider angle, and at $300+ is much less than I expected to spend. However, an upgrade of only 2.2mp from my Kodak seems such a small amount. The Sony has a greater zoom, greater mp, less wide-angle, and about $50 more.

I'm great with P/S cameras, and thrilled with my photos. I'd like to stick with one since he recommended it as an option, but I also don't want to just buy something that isn't much better than what I already have for one mural if what I have will do the job.

I'm hoping some camera experts here can help me??? Will my 5.0mp Kodak do the job, should I upgrade to another point and shoot, or still consider what I had in mind first, a DSLR such as the Rebel...?