I'm a newbie, sailing Zuiderdam 11/24/07 wine question?

cruisingcouple07

Hi everyone!,

What a great site here, I have learned so much reading the posts. My boyfriend is treating me to a weeklong cruise for my birthday (11/26) on the Zuiderdam. He has booked us in an SC (suite guarantee) and I am soooo excited!. He has never cruised before and I have cruised three times prior but never with HAL. My last cruise was in 1991 so it has been awhile!. We used to bring our alcohol on board (beer, and wine). I see things have changed. What are your suggestions?. We both enjoy relaxing with a drink and we are wondering what you suggest?

Thanks for any help!

I'm not exactly sure what your question is, but I think I can make a stab at part of it.

HAL policy is that you may not bring aboard your own hard liquor or beer, but may bring on as much wine (including champagne), water, and soda as you desire (and can lug). If you bring wine you may drink it in your cabin (you might want to bring your own corkscrew); if you want to bring it to the dining room there's a $15 corkage fee.

For hard liquor you can get a set up for your cabin from the ship. To do this you can order from advance from the HAL website, or you can wait until you're aboard. If you wait you can order from room service or purchase a bottle at any bar.

When sailing from some states there's a state sales tax due, so in those cases you might want to delay your purchase until you're at sea.

Does that help some?

We also did the GTY SC Suite for the Zuiderdam for her OCT 27 sailing! Can not wait! I looked the still available rooms up and actually there is NO SC Suite (aft terrace) available! That means we will get upgraded to a SB or SA...we still would prefer a aft SB, before a SA midship! Will see what we end up with...I let you know!