Alaska Vacation Review - Part 1 / Anchorage, Kennicott and Valdez

GMoney

Here is the first installment of my Alaska vacation review, which included time on land and on RCI’s Radiance of the Seas. There’s a lot of detail, which is helpful for me to look back on as I plan future trips, and hopefully helps some you as well.

While I’ve learned a lot about Alaska, I am no expert, so please feel free to challenge my thoughts or share your experiences.

Background

I have been on many cruises, but mostly to the Caribbean. While Alaska was always an interest, the flight time from the east coast was a big deterrent.

This trip came about in a rather odd way, and very last minute. While it impacted my planning, I was very fortunate in that everything turned about perfectly. We first booked a 7-day cruise cruise (RCI Radiance leaving Seward on 8/31), based on a post about a great resident special deal from fellow cruise critic member Mitaxi. Wanting to maximize my Alaska experience, we then booked the following week on Radiance (9/7), as it provided more time, new ports and ended in Vancouver (slightly shorter plane ride home) and was also very reasonably priced.

Knowing that there was no reason to go to Alaska without seeing some things on land, we then booked a 2-night visit to Denali through Grayline at a “sale” price. That alone would have been a decent amount of time – 5 days on land and 14 at sea. However, I unexpectedly ended up with some extra personal time, so I was able to add on another 9 days to the land tour, and had to (very hurriedly) research itineraries, lodging and excursions. Based on advice from Cruise Critic folks and Frommer’s, I was able to piece together the following itinerary:

Land (8/17 – 30)

Anchorage (1 night)

Kennicott (2 nights)

Valdez (2 nights)

Homer (2 nights)

Seward (2 nights)

Anchorage (2 nights)

Denali (2 nights)

Anchorage (1 night)

Cruise (8/31 – 9/14)

Hubbard Glacier

Juneau

Skagway

Icy Strait Point

Ketchikan

Vancouver