Insurance for cancelled/interrupted cruise by the cruise line?

MindyLee

I'm a newbie, Please bear with me! This may have been asked and answered already, but I can't find it.

We're sailing with Carnival in three weeks and have decided to purchase their insurance that covers in the event that we need to cancel or leave early from our cruise, or if during the cruise we have medical expenses, lost luggage, etc. So, we'll get that, no problem. It's not expensive, just $49/person.

But, what about coverage if the cruise line cancels or interrupts the trip due to weather or some other catastrophe? Is there any insurance we can buy so that we'd be reimbursed for that?

Hope someone can help me!!!

Thanks in advance,

Mindy

Usually, if a cruiseline has to cancel or cut short a cruise, they offer not only full reimbursement for the days missed, but also a discount on a future cruise. Whether or not you have insurance. But third party insurance policies do cover the interruption or cancellation by the cruiseline.

However, missing a port, or changing an itinerary is not cutting off entire days or a full cancellation of a cruise. In that case, its a minor refund of $25 for a missed port.

But, what about coverage if the cruise line cancels or interrupts the trip due to weather or some other catastrophe? Is there any insurance we can buy so that we'd be reimbursed for that?

Thanks in advance,

Mindy

The cruise line will refund your money if they cancel the cruise.

Unless they go bankrupt then it may be a different story.

• Administrators
I'm a newbie, Please bear with me! This may have been asked and answered already, but I can't find it.

We're sailing with Carnival in three weeks and have decided to purchase their insurance that covers in the event that we need to cancel or leave early from our cruise, or if during the cruise we have medical expenses, lost luggage, etc. So, we'll get that, no problem. It's not expensive, just $49/person.

Thanks in advance,

Mindy