Please be gentle with a total newbie

tanyanubin

I went snorkeling twice at Xcaret. Both times I was clueless, and floundered around, choking and flailing. But it was absolutely thrilling and beautiful and exciting. I'm going again in a few weeks. I've got a kind of stupid question: Can you go under the water with a snorkel? Will the tube fill up and drown you? I'm sure there's some way to accomplish this, but no one showed us how to use them, they just rented them to us. How would we go about diving down below the water without drowning? Any pointers? Thanks so much!

To dive down while snorkeling: Take a deep breath and hold. Dive down. Then as you come back up and break the surface of the water, exhale really hard and shoot the water out the tube with your breath. Sometimes a few dribbles will be left in the bottom of the snorkel, so just take a careful inhale so you don't suck in any water.

Does that make sense? Have fun! :)

I love the replies to your question! The first was the simplest and most approprate, however I have to laugh at the "blow before you suck" golden rule!! But so true also!!!

One idea that new snorkelers often overlook is SCUBA diving! You do not need to be a pro at snorkeling-just a proficient swimmer to try!

I am a SCUBA Instructor. My parents are not even good snorkelers :)

My father cannot learn to SCUBA due to his glaucoma, but I taught my mom (and boy, how I wish I let someone else teach her!!) She was the WORST student I have ever had! But if that woman can learn to dive, so can you.

My parents are not boat people, and never felt secure on boats here in the US. They most often got sick on them and felt insecure. While snorkeling, they would drink their share of shots of the ocean!

The first day I took my mother out, she was amazed that she didn't swallow salt water while diving- I thought, "Why would you have swallowed it while snorkeling?"