Travel with minor

Bethee99

OK I know this has been asked before I just want to double check.

I am thinking of planning a cruise with my cousin for spring break. If he is 15 do I just need a letter from his parents signing over rights for travel and medical for the week?

also, I already have my passport but I don't think he has one since it is in April a BC for him is OK right?

If we go we will go on the Mariner to Mexico.

I'm not an expert on the whole passport dates cuz they keep changing them. But definitly do a legal letter from his parents. I am 16 and I travel with my whole family alot, but last week I went on IOS with my gram and my aunt. I went to sign up for the Flowrider (and even Rock Wall, but not ice skating, weird) and they asked to see a letter, which I had, BUT it wasn't a 'legal' letter. It was only a typed letter signed by both of my parents saying my gram was in charge for care and medical treatment for the week. They wanted a legal letter, but let it slide.

Point being, definitly do a legal letter from his parents. It will be helpful.

Someone else will be able to answer the passport question.

You definitely need a passport for him. Better get on that asap. There is a form you need to download is a travel parental consent form that has to be notarized. We travel with minors a lot and some of them have not been ours, just recently on the Voyager. We never had a problem. (knock on wood)

He doesn't NEED a passport until June as long as your cruise starts and ends in the USA. If something would happen and you had to fly home out of the USA you would need it then, but just to cruise he won't need it.