Alaska in 2010

rian90

Hi all,

I have asked my husband for a cruise to Alaska as a 20th anniversary gift in July of 2010. I have looked at some of the ships but since I know so little about the ports I really don't know what would be best.

We may bring our kids who will be 20 (oh my gosh!), 12 and 10 at that time but that depends on the costs and I am guessing airfare at least will prohibit five of us traveling. My hubby has a new job with a little less pay so we need to be realistic.

If its just hubby and I, we are looking for something with great scenery and a chance to do a little hiking. I am a former geologist and had a professor in college who did work in Glacier Bay (he was from NZ and I loved the way he said Glacier!!). Anyway, a trip to see Glacier Bay MUST be in the itinerary. I am not into planes, helicopters or small boats but would love some hikes that are easy to moderate...not climbing a mountain or anything. I want to see glaciers and rocks and mountains! I want to be immersed in the environment, not just see it from a boat or a plane...I want to TOUCH Alaska!

I looked at a HAL ship and it looked great, even a train ride which my hubby would LOVE! But since I haven't looked enough, I don't know what else there is to look for.

Do most people on Alaska cruises use the ship's excursions or can you get out on your own?

Also, if we were to put down a deposit on a ship and then for some reason realize we can't save enough money, can we move the date forward without losing a deposit if we stay with the same cruiseline? I realize it has to be done within a certain time limit.

Thanks so much!

Laura