Review of surprise Sapphire Princess Bon Voyage Experience 2/16/13

terrific_surprise

Our Sapphire Princess Bon Voyage Experience on February 16 was a big surprise I had been planning for my wife for over a year, giving her an early taste of the bigger surprise of a Golden Princess cruise to Hawaii next month. (I have been describing the process leading up to this surprise for the past 10 months or so on another lengthy thread here on CC.)

Our BVE experience began before sunrise as we greeted the beautiful Sapphire coming in to port and watched her dock as the sun broke over the horizon (which I describe in much more detail on the other thread).

attachment.php?attachmentid=261253&d=1361283783

By the time we turned in our boarding passes and received our keycards, DW had discovered (a bit earlier than I had intended) that we were only on the ship for the day, so she could now relax and enjoy the experience without worrying about whether we were adequately prepared to go on a cruise.

After boarding the Sapphire Princess, about five of us who were on the Bon Voyage Experience gathered together for a brief talk from the Future Cruise Consultant. She offered to give us a tour of the ship, but we opted to explore on our own, already being familiar with the ship from our 2010 Mexican Riviera cruise (although many important parts of the ship had changed in the last three years, especially in the atrium, now redesigned as the Piazza).

By now it was about 11:30 am, so we had about 30 extra minutes before the dining room would open for lunch. The letter we had received explaining the BVE instructed us to be off the ship no later than 3:00 pm; I told DW that we would be leaving the ship no earlier than 2:59 pm, wanting to take advantage of every minute.