Should I do New Year's on Princess?

Prof96

I am relatively new to cruising (love Princess) and am trying to choose between the 12-28-10 9-day on the Crown and the 1-2-11 7-day on the CB. Both are southern caribbean itineraries. I have been reading your knowledgeable posts for months and wondered if anyone thought the New Year's experience is worth the extra cost. On my January 2010 cruise the staff told me what a horrible group of passengers they had over New Years! Thanks!

Princess: 2 and counting

RCCL: 1 and holding

We have been on Princess cruises over xmas and new year the past 3 years and have booked another for this year. We have loved these cruises and its so nice to get some warmth when the UK is freezing!

Not sure what you were referring to saying "staff told me what a horrible group of passengers they had over New Years!" We have met all sorts on the cruises we've done and you will find some lovely folk and some not so nice on ANY cruise - and in everyday life for that matter.

I can't believe that all of the passengers were horrible - there must have been some nice ones!! Comments like these shouldn't put you off - we have had a few truly dreadful waiters on a couple of our cruises, but this wouldn't put us off going to the dining room or even put us off cruising!

There are usually more children on the xmas / new year cruises, but if this doesn't bother you, then go for it. The ships are decked out really lovely and its a great way to see in a new year.

Yes, they have great New Year's parties aboard ship. We had a great time on the Dawn Princess a couple of years ago. And hey, you don't have to drive home after the party!

Here's a short vid taken at midnight...

New Year's Eve - 12-31-2007

I've done 2 Christmas cruises in the past 4 years. A lot of fun and the holiday spirit is alive onboard. I would like to do a Christmas/New Years sailing. Imagine it's a lot of fun and I don't have to drive home after the party. Only find my cabin.