Criminal record and cruising?

First off...I am NOT referring to myself! The person I plan to cruise with does have a passport. We are looking at cruising the Caribbean in August...east or west will determine based on answers...the person I am cruising with has a felony (a stupid drug charge from 11 years ago)... No restrictions on travel...probation was over in 07. Just curious if there are any countries they won't be allowed in because of the crime? Thanks fir any help! Steph

Thanks guys.. no warrants.. time and probation done and over with (time finished 7 years ago... probation done 4 years ago)... and we just flew to AZ last week and no issues there. Its their first cruise so I dont want them to miss out on any ports (never been out of the country either!).

Shouldn't be a problem. The only people who have issues are those with outstanding warrants ... they sometimes get a rude surprise upon re-entry to the US.

No problems anticipated. I'm a retired parole officer. Once your sentence is done, it's done. The fact that a passport was issued is validation enough for any government agency or cruise line. And you're right about active warrants ... happened with my cases dozens of times. With today's technology, it's tough to avoid ... even had a guy arrested in '06 on a warrant dating back to '91. But you'll be fine ... have a great cruise!

I agree with all of those who have said, time is served, probation is done, passport is valid, no problems. I will also tell you don't be shocked if he is pulled aside for a "random" screening upon return from the cruise since he has a drug arrest record. Not saying it will happen, just saying don't be shocked. Have a great cruise, Jim

Shouldn't be a problem. The only people who have issues are those with outstanding warrants ... they sometimes get a rude surprise upon re-entry to the US.