Newbie Needs Your Help - Icy Strait Point Whales, Wildlife & Brown Bear Search

Hi Everyone! I’m a newbie to Cruise Critic. I’ve already enjoyed reading the boards and have already learned so much that is very helpful.

My wife and I have booked an August 2012 southbound cruise from Seward to Vancouver on the RC Radiance of the Seas. We are so excited about it and are beginning to plan our shore excursions.

I have a couple of questions about Icy Strait Point excursion Whales, Wildlife & Brown Bear Search - IC24 offered through the cruise line. I’m hoping someone here who has been on this same excursion would be able to share their experience on this excursion.

Do you remember how much time you spent on the water viewing the whales?

When you went on the Brown Bear Search, did you watch for bears from a platform?

Thanks in advance for any information or tips you can provide!

You will love this cruise....In Icy Strait we did the whale watch only excursion and it was amazing...saw so many whales in was unbelievable. We did not do the excursion you are talking about but friends of ours did and they said that they felt rushed going from one thing to the other. They wished they would have just done the whale watch by itself. Hope this helps.

Sure thing.....a little info for you on the whale watch...what we didnt expect and was a nice surprise is that the tour boat supplied everyone on-board with really powerful binoculars so you didn't miss any wildlife. Not sure if you are going to stop in Ketchikan but we did a zip line excursion their that was really good. Beautiful bald eagles flying all around us...was a great experience.