question about wines

My wife and I never drink wine. Okay, maybe a glass every year or two. On past cruises we have tasted some red wine (Georges Duboeuf I believe) and we liked it.

We will be cruising with some cheapskates and they want to bring a few large bottles of wine on board the Carnival Victory and pay the corkage fee and drink at dinner.

Please give me your advice on which type of wine I should tell these cheapskates to buy (locally) so that we will be drinking good quality wine on the ship and so that it will be the same type of wine that is sold on the ship. (These people are into impressions and want people to think that they are buying the wine on the ship).

Anyway, all advice on wine types is appreciated.

I am a complete novice, so don’t make fun of my post. All that I know is that my wife and I like red wine, not so keen on white wine. I really don’t care what our friends like, and they only care that they are saving a ton of cash (even with the corkage fee factored in).

So, with that in mind, if you could also give an approximate cost that we should pay for this wine locally (not on the ship).

Thanks in advance

Most likely the GD wine you had was a boujoulais (sp). That is usually a lighter bodied fruity red. You may like pinot noir as most of them are lighter bodied. You can also find medium bodied merlots or red zinfandels (not to be confused with white zin). I often find good bottles of reds at Sam's Club or Cost Plus World Market for under $15. The Clos du Bois Merlot is good and the St. Michelle Merlot is too. The le Crema and Estancia Pinot Noirs are good and not too expensive. Some Austrailain shiraz (syrah) and some Spanish riojas are good and decently priced. If you go into a wine shop and tell them you like light bodied reds for under $15 (or whatever your price range is) they will usually be very helpful. Even people who drink wine regularly don't want to spend a fortune on it, so this is a common question in a wine shop.