Shore excursions

tacomaguy20

I'm new to cruising and was wondering about shore excursions. I booked the cruise with a website, not the cruise line directly. Now for the shore excursions, what do you recommend? Should I book with the same website I booked the cruise with, book directly with the cruise line, or use a 3rd party?

Also, I was wondering if I was to book through a 3rd party, do I go on the same shore excursion as someone who booked through the cruise line or would I be on a separate shore excursion? For instance, I book through a 3rd party and my friend book through the cruise line. Same shore excursion or different? Thanks in advance.

If you book a tour that is offered by the ship then you need to go directly to the cruise lines web site to book the excursion.

Of course you can consider booking excursions on your own.

If this is your first cruise my recommendation is to book the excisions through the cruise line. You may pay a little more but you will have the comfort of knowing that the excursions will run and that you will not have made any major mistakes.

Keith

Keith is right, except that I have seen some online travel agencies that offer ship excursions at some slight discount. I think it would be better to book through the ship, especially for a first-time cruiser.

I've never booked the ship excursions through a 3rd party, so I am not positive, but pretty sure they will be the exact same excursion as if you booked with the cruise line.

We much prefer independent excursions for quality and price, but there are sometimes reasons to book ship excursions and being a first-time cruiser is one of those reasons. If you are more adventurous, go independent.

What are your ports? And what do you like to do (beach, adventure, historic)?