Canadian customs

Flying from Chicago to Montreal I am taking Porter Air which stops in Toronto. I have never used them before but they advertise that they stop in downtown for easy access to the city. My thoughts were to have a four hr layover so I could possibly see downtown and maybe have lunch before continuing on to Montreal.

Does anyone know what to expect there as far as time to go through customs in Toronto and then get back to board the next flight? I know Canada isn't subject to the slowdown from the sequester in the US and if I can't have enough time Ill plan for a shorter connection there.

Thanks for any input.

YYZ customs is a mixed bag. All depending on the number if flights and pax count that land around the same time as you. I have cleared customs in less than five minutes to taking over an hour. Once tagged for secondary screening. I personally think if you have a 4 hour layover, that is cutting it close if you want to get into the heart of Toronto or the Theater District. That trip along takes about 20min at midnight.

Flying from Chicago to Montreal I am taking Porter Air which stops in Toronto. I have never used them before but they advertise that they stop in downtown for easy access to the city. My thoughts were to have a four hr layover so I could possibly see downtown and maybe have lunch before continuing on to Montreal.

Does anyone know what to expect there as far as time to go through customs in Toronto and then get back to board the next flight? I know Canada isn't subject to the slowdown from the sequester in the US and if I can't have enough time Ill plan for a shorter connection there.

Thanks for any input.

They stop on Toronto Island Airport . The airport is a ferry ride into town.

Customs could take up to an hours depending on the number of planes arriving.