MDR food taste & quality?

seadancer

DH and I went on a cruise several years ago on the Magic and loved the ship, the characters, castaway key and the shows. I was let down by the food in the MDR. I've been hearing from friends that just got back from the Dream that the MDR food was great. We are used to good food on the cruises: I've been cruising since 1987 and DH since 1994. We have gone on several lines (see signature) and our current favorite is Celebrity.

Please advise your thoughts on the food. I do realize it could've been our "week" on that ship, the ship itself, etc. I do hope the food has gotten better! We love Disney and I would love to go back but it's so much more expensive than our other options!

Edited by seadancer
typo

DH and I went on a cruise several years ago on the Magic and loved the ship, the characters, castaway key and the shows. I was let down by the food in the MDR. I've been hearing from friends that just got back from the Dream that the MDR food was great. We are used to good food on the cruises: I've been cruising since 1987 and DH since 1994. We have gone on several lines (see signature) and our current favorite is Celebrity.

Please advise your thoughts on the food. I do realize it could've been our "week" on that ship, the ship itself, etc. I do hope the food has gotten better! We love Disney and I would love to go back but it's so much more expensive than our other options!

Food is so subjective, that it would difficult for one person to tell everyone whether it's "great" or not.

For the most part, food onboard the major market cruiselines is most comparable to a catered dinner. They are preparing massive numbers of meals for large numbers of people. It's just not possible to have the special individually prepared food that generally equates to "great". Except at the extra pay dining venues.