Greek ships

Just heard an item on the news about shipping lines based in Greece haven't thus far paid much in the way of taxes and that this looks as though it will have to change under the new EU agreement (subject to approval by the Greek Government).

Wonder what, if any impact, that may have on running costs for Louis owned/operated ships and subsequently costs to passengers? :(

Even if they agree the deal, will they stick to it ?

Will they register the ships else where ? Even the UK has done that with ships in the past .

It seems they voted against tough measures the other week and now seem to be taking on even more tougher measures for Greece .

I don't think anyone knows how this will pan out .

As said before the days of Shakespeare ... It's all Greek to me :confused: :confused: ;)

I'm no expert but I would think Thomsons would have this included in their contract and Louis will have to absorb the tax rises. They will probably have to raise prices on their own cruises though.

All the port taxes are being increased also. So I would imagine this cost will be passes on as the increases are dated from 1st July.

the greeks definitely want to up the taxes for tourists (could be a big earner for them)

imo the greeks would like to hope that it will be tourists that will pay down a lot of their debt

unless tour operators switch more pax to bulgaria/romania etc etc (not much in the way of taxes paid there either) ;)

Apparently hotels and restuarants in Greek tourist areas have exemption from VAT.

That is one of the reforms their government will have to undertake without delay - I saw 23% VAT being mentioned.

If they try and hike up holiday prices significantly it'll deter tourists and create a vicious circle.

Some of the articles I've been reading about Greece, if accurate, are astonishing.

For example, retirement (for certain job types) at age 50 with a 95% pension, based on earnings and funded by the state system !!!