Baggage Restrictions on British Airways

I will be flying from the US to Spain on British Airways later this month for my Med. cruise. This is my first time flying with BA so I decided to check their baggage restrictions so I wouldn't be caught off guard at the airport. I was surprised to see the comparatively stringent weight requirements for carry-on bags. According to the BA web site, they only allow ONE carry-on bag (with no allowance for purse, camera bag, laptop, etc.) of 13 lbs or less in the economy (World Traveller) class. Can anyone tell me how strictly this weight limit is enforced?

I was surprised to see the comparatively stringent weight requirements for carry-on bags. According to the BA web site, they only allow ONE carry-on bag (with no allowance for purse, camera bag, laptop, etc.) of 13 lbs or less in the economy (World Traveller) class. Can anyone tell me how strictly this weight limit is enforced?
Actually, you'll find that cabin baggage restrictions are typically at this level or thereabouts on major airlines outside the US.

Usually on BA you can get away with something that is a little over the limit if it doesn't look big (ie nowhere near the size limit) and it doesn't look heavy. In my experience, a couple of small bags that are each obviously nowhere near the size or weight limits and which don't transgress the weight limit in total will not cause a problem, either.

However, there are times when every piece of cabin baggage is weighed and the limit is strictly enforced - for a recent report, see this post.