Dining and beverage package

Djaesmom

Please excuse my ignorance, but this is my first time cruising. We will be sailing on the oasis of the seas in August, and Cruise critic is very helpful,but I'm still very confused about dining. I have read that some restaurants are free, or complementary, others have a small service fee, and some you pay off the menu. Then I read other forums about main dining room or MDR I believe is what is used, formal dining and traditional dining. And I also heard that reservations must be made for dinner. Can somebody help clarify all of this for me? Also are the beverage packages necessary? We are not very big soda drinkers, and we wont drink more than one or 2 alcoholic beverages, so will be able to survive with what is offered in the restaurants and the tap water in the cabin ? Thanks so much.

Sent from my iPhone using Forums

Go to the RCI website and look up your ship...there is info on which restaurants are "for fee" and which are included in your fare. The MDR and buffet are included and there are smaller, "snacky" types of places included, too. Traditional dining means you are assigned a table and time...it's the same each night. "My time dining" is in the dining room, but YOU go when you want, and may have a different table nightly. same menu and suggested dress. You do NOT need reservations for the dining room, but if you have My time dining, you might decide to make reservations...and that's fine...you can do that.

There are 2 "formal" nights on a 7 nighter...but few bring tux or gown anymore. Look clean and neat, and you'll be fine.

Breakfast and lunch are also served in the MDR (lunch is only on sea days), and it's "open seating"....just show up and you'll be seated and served.