Seattle pier 91 porters

Nattyg1723

Forgive me for sounding ignorant, but I have never used porters before and have some questions regarding them (Seattle pier 91)

1. There will be 2 ships at the pier at embarkation, the Ruby Princess and the Eurodam. Are there certain porters for each ship/cruise line, or will the porter collect all luggage for both ships and sort out where it goes?

2. Are the porters right at the front of the terminal where you get dropped off?

3. What is the general tip per bag? 

Thank you.

Hi Nattyg1723, 

We've sailed out of Seattle pier 91 numerous times. Yes, there are certain porters for each line and I'm sure someone will chime in as to which ship they go with. However, they are very organized and will call someone for you if they can't take you. They are right handy in the terminal area. I tip $5.00 - $10.00 total and we have 3-4 bags that are being taken to be loaded. I'm not sure if that's right or not but it's an amount I'm comfortable with. 

Karen

There will be designated porters for both ships.  Each cruise line porter will wear a particular color (orange or yellow/green).  The porters will only accept your bags if they are working for that particular ship, if not they will direct you to the correct porter.  These are union jobs and when their lunch time occurs they do take it, and sometimes around 11;30 - noon it may seem like their are no porters.  There are, but for a short period just less of them.  Also, pier staff can also direct you to the correct color-coded porter. Once the season begins May 4 & 5 we can report back regarding the correct porter color by cruise line.