DIFFICULTY GETTING 3 or 4 STAR HOTEL IN FLL THROUGH PRICELINE???

many cruises

We are cruising on the Westerdam in November & are trying to book a 3 or 4 star hotel in FLL (downtown or beach area) through Priceline, but aren't having any luck. We have used Priceline many times & have been pleased with the hotels we have booked. My highest bid was $95.00 & that was denied. Is anyone else having the same difficulty trying to get a hotel in Fort Lauderdale? I guess I'll just keep on trying to see if any hotels open up for that time period. ;)

If you'll post the dates you'd like to try for, what "FLL" stands for, and what areas of town are acceptable to you, I'll do some research. After hundreds of priceline stays, I'm a self-proclaimed expert. :-)

Successful 4* bids in the downtown and beach areas have been going for between $110 and $135 over the last several months.

It's expensive, but remember, rack rates are $200+ for these rooms, and hotels have very little incentive to turn rooms over to opaque services in beach communities that are popular year-round, especially with travel up 10% for the 2nd year in a row.

I suspect if you bid up to $135, you will get a 4*.

I suspect a 3* will be 90% of the cost ($120-ish), and the extra few bucks will be well worth it to go for the four. (FYI, a substancial price drop happens at 2.5* hotels... and a rise in amenities as well. Where 3* and 4* properties often don't have continental breakfast, and charge for things like parking and WiFi, 2.5* properties will offer these things for free.) 2* properties are also availible, but suffer the same problems with price differential that 3* and 4* properties do. (Just a few bucks difference, but a large difference in quality.)

I suspect you could get a 2.5* at around $70-80.