What Makes Aft Cabins So Desirable?

Ugly Betty Fan

Newbie here, I was under the impression that aft cabin (along with very forward cabins) gave the roughest ride on cruise ships. Can someone either correct me and/or tell me why Aft cabins seem to be in such high demand - what makes them desirable?

Thanks, I'm just being nosey :rolleyes:

the aft cabins is we love looking at the wake ;-)) We also like to look right down into the water rather than into other balconies. Some of the aft balconies are huge....but not always a big plus.

We had E732 on the Diamond and the balcony was very deep so the cabin didn't get much sun. We realized we didn't need one that big, so this time we booked a different aft cabin for 2009!!!!!!

You are also at the end of a hallway and don't get any traffic past your cabin. We do spend a lot of time on the balcony so it is worth it to us to have a covered balcony with more privacy. I am a photographer and it is nice to jump out of bed to shoot a fabulous sunrise without worrying about your attire.

We didn't notice a rough ride at all on the Diamond. Oh, the other BIG plus is no wind!!!

Cheers, Denise

Ah! I see :D Do you find the ride rougher back there? I'm ready to book Grand Princess this weekend for December 2008 and my travel agent asked if we might like AFT cabins, so, that's why I'm asking. None of us going usually have motion sickness trouble, so, I'm thinking maybe we should try it.

We don't find the afts "rough" but sometimes you can feel the stabilizers. Since no one get sea sick, I would definately book it, just make sure it is definitely across the stern. So cabins toward the back are called aftsjust because they are in that vincinity.