Choice of stateroom on the Oosterdam

karen sharpe

Hi

I have no advice based on experience however we are on Noordam around the Med in Aug09 which is identical ship i understand , we selected VB6047 , this is our logic right or wrong , we wanted to be on starboard side of the ship based on the ships direction (better views of land !!) , we ruled our deck 8 as it was under the pool deck , we wanted to be at the pointy end near lifts and 6047 looked private as is the last cabin before the ship curves inwards , this could be complete garbage and would be interested in opinions !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

There are few "bad" verandah cabins. About the only ones I would not recommend are 4001 thru 4042, which have the steel-wall railings. :)

What's your budget? Are you looking for a low-end verandah, or is money no object?

We loved 7101 on the grand Ms. O for our 2006 Alaskan sailing! Nice and roomy, big verandah, and the comfiest bed on the planet! Close to everything - just a couple of decks from the Lido and on the portside, which was great sailing into each port.

We were in 5130 on the Oosterdam on the May 31, 2008 sailing to Alaska, and it wasn't quite as nice. Seemed a bit smaller, a couple of "sagging" spots in the floor by the foot of the bed, further from everything - I don't know, just wasn't the same. Would recommend 7101 highly!

There are few "bad" verandah cabins. About the only ones I would not recommend are 4001 thru 4042, which have the steel-wall railings. :)

What's your budget? Are you looking for a low-end verandah, or is money no object?

We're okay with the money side of it. I understand there are 3 different types of veranda staterooms.

I was in 8086 on the Oosterdam. It was a fabulous location. Never heard any noise from above at all. SS and SY are the same mini suites, just on different decks and I believe the SY is more expensive. I can't wait to sail on the Westerdam. Its a Vista class ship as are the Noordam, Oosterdam and Zuiderdam.