Queen Victoria-Just back!

shipmannj

Hi all,

Prior to this cruise, you were all so kind in answering some questions for me that I thought it only fair to report to you about the voyage. Thank you again for your help, it did make things easier.

This was my first time onboard QV, although I have sailed Cunard Countess twice, QE2 and QM2 twice. I am also a veteran of about 40 other cruises, mostly on Holland America Line, so I know all of their Vista and modified Vista class ships very well.

Overall, this was an excellent cruise, but there were some flies in the ointment which would have made it even better.

The itinerary was Trieste-Zadar-Dubrovnik-Mykonos (missed due to weather)-Rhodes-Izmir and disembarkation in Istanbul. We also added the Cunard three day extension in Istanbul.

First, comments about the itinerary. We started with a bone-crunching flight from the USA to Trieste, via Munich, and an overnight at the truly splendid Savoia Excelsior Hotel, located directly across the street from the pier. This was the first ever embarkation for QV in Trieste, and it was handled smoothly. The Costa Mediterranea was also embarking, and as Costa is the more frequent caller, they got the better side of the berth. The Trieste pier was built to accommodate the great liners of the past, certainly not two vessels so large as these. Space was tight and not air conditioned, but fortunately things went quickly once they actually began check-in.