Southern Caribbean on Celebrity Summit

JRockey76

Hello, I am new to cruise critic and have a few questions about the Summit. We are looking to book a cruise to the southern Caribbean next year on the Summit in April, and will be renewing our wedding vows at one of the ports for our 15th anniversary. I have read good and bad things about the summit regarding the age of the ship, food, and shows. Can anyone enlighten me regarding this? We have only ever been on one other cruise which was this year to the western caribbean on royal caribbean freedom of the seas. We were planning on booking a concierge class veranda room.

DW and I sailed on the Summit in 1/08 to the south after reading horrendous reports and reviews on this board. If I had believed everything I had read, I would have canceled the cruise, but instead, chose to have an open mind and decide for myself just how bad off that old boat really was. Yes, it had a few spots on railings with missing varnish, a burn mark in the carpet of our cabin and another on the sink. The ship was seven years old for Pete's sake! The crew took outstanding care of it and I thought it was the nicest ship I had ever sailed on and will go on it again the next time we want that itinerary. The service was the best I've ever had, the food was very good, but not excellent, although taste is so subjective, you really can't take anyone else's word for how good or bad it is. The entertainment was very good for a cruise ship, and I'm stating that after living in Las Vegas for 13 years and seeing some of the best shows in the country. The most disappointing feature for us, and I hope you laugh at this, was the fact that the crew was very unapproachable. Not something that is going to make or break my cruise.