Rome on a Segway or should I say Segwaaaaaaay!!!

ali-ali-oh

Having just returned from our cruise starting and ending in Rome, I had to post on this thread about our Segway excursion as there didn't seem that much information available before we went and it was so much better than I ever expected it to be.

Anyone considering this I would seriously recommend it. It was without doubt the BEST excursion/trip we have ever done. As someone who is not particularly co-ordinated, I had my doubts about my ability to ride one, but it really was soooooo easy once you got the hang of it (after about 5 mins I was a pro). I also expected it to be a tour consisting of mainly teenagers, but I was wrong. the average age group of our tour was 60ish.

We were in a group of 6 (7 if you count the tour leader). Everyone was given a helmet and a radio headset and then we were taken to a quiet area and one by one assisted to learn to ride - then given about 30 mins to get used to it. It literally takes five minutes. You can go as fast, or slow as you want by simply tilting your feet. You don't have to worry about throttles and gear changes or anything like that. To change direction you simply tilt the handlebar - what could be easier. By the end of the tour I felt I'd been riding one all my life and it was far easier (and less effort) than riding a bike.

After a day and a half running around Rome, mainly on foot, it was so nice to be able to take the easy route. Whizzing up hills and covering so much more ground than we would have done with a walking guide.