Sorry ! Tipping Query....

First off, I'm a novice, having just returned from my first cruise.

Took the advice from fellow passengers of removing the statutory $12 per day tips from my account, reasoning (I thought rationally) that as our party were benefitting differently from individual staff we would assign the tips accordingly.

Having now read through various threads, it seems that what I've effectively done is penalise, not reward the staff as the "tips" actually comprise the bulk of their "wages"

I'm scratching my head here why a company like Royal Caribbean can't build into the holiday price the appropriate overhead to cover their staff costs, so good service (which I most certainly received) can be rewarded with additional tips from their guests.

Am I missing something here? As from the threads I've read it seems as if the guests are effectively responsible for paying the wages of the service staff.

Would really appreciate someone to post an honest reply to this.

Thanks

Took the advice from fellow passengers of removing the statutory $12 per day tips from my account, reasoning (I thought rationally) that as our party were benefitting differently from individual staff we would assign the tips accordingly.

Having now read through various threads, it seems that what I've effectively done is penalise, not reward the staff as the "tips" actually comprise the bulk of their "wages"

I'm scratching my head here why a company like Royal Caribbean can't build into the holiday price the appropriate overhead to cover their staff costs, so good service (which I most certainly received) can be rewarded with additional tips from their guests.

Am I missing something here? As from the threads I've read it seems as if the guests are effectively responsible for paying the wages of the service staff.

Thanks

Yes we are effectively responsible for paying some of the staff's wages. This is just how the cruise industry works.