Breakaway 12/15-12/22 Review: Noob Tips, Myths, Etc

cruisebear84

Hi Everyone!

I have been telling myself I am going to write this review for over a week, but between Christmas and vacation-mode laziness, I never got around to it. So I figure if I at least get the thread going, I will have no choice but to complete it in the next few days!

I decided to add to the multitude of reviews because I am so grateful for Cruise Critic and all the information I gleaned from these boards in getting ready for this cruise. FYI, I was supposed to be on the Aug 25th sailing to Bermuda, but had to cancel at the cut off date for financial reasons. I was granted an extremely rare week off in December and booked this sailing during a promotion my PCC sent me. I don't normally plan vacations so last minute, but I am so grateful I was able to go on this cruise! I learned so much from so many CCers that I feel it's only right to keep the flow of information going. I work in education, so learning and sharing knowledge is a key value for me. I'm the type of person that actually looks forward to filling out surveys at the end of a trip, meeting, information session, etc, lol.... feedback is important! How can others learn if you don't share what you know? I will do a brief formal member review after I've finished this one as well, and I encourage others to do so!

The way I will structure this review is a brief overview of things that stood out for me, rather than a day-by-day review. I'd like to target it to new cruisers or I guess new cruisers to the Breakaway at least, since I imagine they are more likely to read this. I will mention myths I read on these boards-- myth is probably the wrong word for it, but I couldn't think of anything catchier! Basically I'd like to address some of the things I read on the boards that turned out not to be true for me. Just to highlight how individual experiences may vary!

BACKGROUND