HAL went down

Cruise-A-Hoy

I am new to to the Cruise Critic and especially to this board but feel I have to vent.

We ( a group of 50 plus) just got off of the Noordam and those that have sailed with HAL in the past feel that they have really gone down hill.

First we were are scheduled for early seating at 6:15pm. This was confirmed by faxes from HAL. When we arrived on the ship we were told there is no 6:15 dining and we would be eating at 5:30pm. We, the group started to blame the travel agent who was with us (thank god). She pulled out the faxes and showed us that HAL confirnmed 6:15.

This may seem minor but it had a domino affect as we had a scheduled hour cocktail party for 5:15 one night. With eating at 5:30 we would only have 15 minutes for the party. An attemp to reschedule was a comedy, apparently the staff on the ship did not know that saturday comes before sunday and they screwed up the day and time three times. Finally they gave us a 45 minute (15 minutes short) party one night

The service was OK but far from excellent or even great. Being on close to 40 cruises myself including other HAL ships I found it below what I have experienced before on HAl and other ships. This group is all Afro-Americans and the crew made us ALL feel like second class passenger. Can't explain exactly why but each of us had the same feeling.

Food was OK but nothing to write home about as was the entertainment.

Many of us have sailed HAL before when the cruise line was more upper scale but no more. Our travel agent origianlly recommended thsi sailing telling us that HAL is a premium cruise line competiting with Celebrity and Princess. All of us in this group feel that it can't come close to Princess, and especially Celebrity

The travel agent who was with us was so frustrated with everything that she had to go through with the company and the experience we had on this sailing that she will have to reconsider even recommending them again.