Final Payment Float?

mscott

This is kind of an obscure question, but here goes: Last week I booked a Celebrity Journey sailing with an agency I've never used before, but is one of the major online agencies. I was told the final payment date, and had to sign a document saying I wanted to book this particular cruise, etc., and send it back to them.

Anyway, after I sent in the doc, I noticed that the final payment due date was more than 100 days before the cruise date. Celebrity wants the payment, for this cruise, 70 days before the cruise date.

I called the agency and asked them why, they said they charge everyone a month before it's due and pay the cruiselines in one lump sum. Basically what this amounts to is a "float," where the agency is able to use the client's money for a month, and I assume, draw interest on it. Is this common? I've never seen this before.

I've always been charged a day, or a few days before the cruiseline wants the money.

This leads to another question - can one transfer reservations from one agency to another?

I'm not sure whether I should worry about this or not, but I kinda feels like I'm being used... maybe it's just me. Thanks.

I use a local TA and have never been asked to pay earlier than the Celebrity date.