Question about Spa Services-Manicure/Pedicure

LuckyLoon

Hi All,

Can anyone tell me the cost of a manicure and a pedicure on board? Also is it worth it? Are they as good as going to a land based salon? Do they do gel nails?

I'm a novice at all this. Only had a pedicure once, but really enjoyed it. I've a bad bruise on my index nail which is finally grown out of my cuticle area and hope to cover it up.

Thanx,

JMHO, but I would get all of that stuff done before you leave on your cruise. A pedicure will run you around $55.00 + tip, and a manicure around $35.00 + tip. I avoid the spas/beauty salons on board as they are v-e-r-y overpriced and they try to push their products on you from the time you enter until you leave. I have done the spa thing twice when cruising and just gave it up as a total waste of time & money. I would rather take the money and spend it on a shore excursion or something nice to take home.

I also have gel nails and don't know if they do the gel nails on board or not, but I did see on the Oosterdam price list in November that to repair ONE acrylic nail was around $15.00 - totally outrageous. I get my nails & feet done the day before we leave home and forget about it!! The gel nails are super-strong and I have never had one break. It costs $25.00 for a new full set of gel nails at my salon, and $27.00 for a complete spa pedicure that includes hot towels and a leg/ankle massage.

Some passengers love the spa thing - I just find it all terribly overpriced. Again, just my opinion. Sure hope your bruise is gone by cruise-time and that you have a fabulous trip! :)