Which camera will do best on a cruise?

cunardaddict

I have read so many questions to prepare for a cruise. A lot of helpful answers are given as most of the users here have an intese experience.

I am a professional photographer and I feel I have to contribute to a question that rarely comes up. It seems to me, that this subject is not valued high enough - but dissapointing pictures may spoil the rmemebers of a cruise for long.

After more than 20 cruises I have seen a lot of variations. So far my share:

Forget all mobile phone and smartphone cameras. They may be good for a snapshot at your table, but none of them, not even the latest Nokia or Sony or Samsung (i use a S4 right now) are coping with tropical light, far distances or landscape. Cameras of i-Pads or any other pad are even worse. It only looks funny to see people running about holding their i-Pad in the direction the subject and taking pictures. The result may look fine on the display, but on a larger screen, a projector or printetd the look poor and light reflexes i.e. from the water may ruin it completely.

Off course I travel mostly with a professionel equipment, but a few smaller camerys will do fine. You do not need the latest stuff, the models of the last 2 years will do fine for another 5 years, no doubt.

So, what do you need?

Do not buy a camera with a plastic case, it may drop and brake into pieces.

To take pictures of subjects like the QM2 a very wide angel lense is essential - and most cameras do not provide this!

If you do a cruise with many sea days you may want to take pictures of fish. Then a decent tele lens is essential to - limiting your choice to only a few cameras at all now.

To take pictures of fish the camera has to provide a very fast and precise autofocus system, please do test it in the shop by taking pictures of subjects in varying distances by moving quickly around.