Celebrity/Royal Caribbean

jaspersmommy

I've booked an 7-day northbound Alaska cruise out of Vancouver for June 2015 on the Celebrity Millennium. We've done this intinerary previously on Millennium and we loved it. I was looking at Royal Caribbean's website, and I can a do an identical itinerary for signficantly less cost on the Radiance of the Seas.

I've never tried Royal Caribbean before. We are booked in an S1 right now with Celebrity and were thinking of upgrading to a Celebrity Suite. The Junior Suites and Grand Suites on the Radiance of the Seas seem like comparable staterooms.

Can anyone who is a veteran of cruising with both lines tell me what you think the major differences are that we would see if we went with Royal Caribbean instead? Would we notice a large decline in quality of food? How about things like service, amenities on the ship, etc.

Thanks so much!

They have both similarities and differences. On average RCI caters more to families traveling with children and to young adults and provides a more energetic, activity centric cruise experience with lots of nightlife. Celebrity caters to an older crowd and provides a more sophisticated, upscale experience with more of an emphasis on relaxation and providing some upscale touches. Celebrity does budget a bit more money into food and there are fewer passengers per staff member - so there on average is better food and service, but the difference is not huge. The Radiance class ships of RCI are older and do not have the massive side or myriad of activities the newer RCI ships have such as ice skating rinks, flo riders, zip lines etc. - so they are a bit more similar to a Celebrity experience than if you were to sail on one of the newer classes of RCI ships. Both are good lines and if Radiance is much less expensive, it may be worth trying.