Princess Visa card - notified my wife that I applied?

mysaddlebred000

Last week I read another thread about the Princess Visa card and thought I would check it out. It sounded like something I would be interested in and the benefits were better than the Visa we have so I applied. I also have been thinking for some time about switching. Didn't take more than a minute and I was approved.

I received an email yesterday saying my new card was in the mail so today a letter came from card services and I opened it thinking it was my new card. But to my surprise, I discovered it was addressed to the spouse of _________ (me).

It stated: in accordance with (my state's) law, we are notifying you that your spouse has applied for and will be receiving an unsecured PCL Visa issued by Barclays Bank Delaware.

Is there some law that you can't apply for a credit card without your spouse knowing?

Also, what does "unsecured" mean?

I have no experience with cards since our current AMEX, Mastercard and Visa cards are through our brokerage firm and they applied and got them for us.

I really can't remember if I asked for a card for my wife or not. And, no, I did not tell her about it. We have been so busy getting taxes together and getting ready for our next cruise that it really slipped my mind. I really had no intentions of applying that day - it just happened. And she will be fine with it.

Thanks in advance to anyone that can help me out

Secured credit cards are usually for those with bad credit scores. Often, the person who wants the credit card deposits an amount ($500) with the credit card and then they are given a $500 or $600 credit limit. It is used by people who want to improve their credit rating and can't get a credit card otherwise.

So, unsecured credit cards are what most think of credit cards. You don't have to put up any money up front to receive it.