Silly question...

svnaaa

Hi!

I'm brand new to cruising and traveling in general. I'm petrified of flying, so cruising is something I'd like to tackle before I decide to fly.

I'm interested in embarking on a long cruise overseas since the next two years of my life are going to be dedicated to being a slave to school. Say a cruise is a 16-night cruise. The itinerary is clearly laid out from departure with every port/or "at sea" each day. Do you take a flight back home? Or does the ship go back and those days are not included on there?

Probably a very silly question, but I can't find anything on this. :o :o

Yes, if the itinerary has a different last port listed than the first port, this is a one-way or "open jaw" cruise, and you would have to fly home from the last port. As stated above, the majority of cruises are "closed loop", where the last port is the same as the first port, and this would be listed in the itinerary. There are no "secret" or "unlisted" days on a cruise itinerary.

If you take a repositioning cruise where the ship is moving, let's say, from Europe in the summer to fall and winter in the Caribbean, it won't go back to Europe until spring. You don't indicate where you live, but you could drive to a port and take a cruise that comes back to the same port you embarked from. For instance, a New England cruise that leaves from Boston and comes back to Boston.

If you could tell us where you live now, what "overseas" means to you, we may be able to provide more information.

Roz

The itinerary is clearly laid out from departure with every port/or "at sea" each day. Do you take a flight back home? Or does the ship go back and those days are not included on there?

If you post more details about your plans it will be easier to give an accurate answer to your question. What part of the world do you live in? Where are you thinking of taking a cruise?