Dress Code

johnnyd57uk

I tend to wear grey trousers with a black tuxedo, white shirt and bow tie on formal nights when cruising . As most guys wear matching black trousers I am wondering if my grey/black combination is out of kilter with dress convention. Any thoughts on this anyone ?

I tend to wear grey trousers with a black tuxedo, white shirt and bow tie on formal nights when cruising . As most guys wear matching black trousers I am wondering if my grey/black combination is out of kilter with dress convention. Any thoughts on this anyone ?

I am no fashion expert. But, I do know that wearing a black "tuxedo" jacket with anything other than matching black tuxedo pants will only serve to make fellow passengers think you packed your suitcase in the dark and made a mistake. Of course, grey slacks with a blue or black blazer would be fine for "prom night" on any mass market ship.

Sent from my iPhone using Forums

Yes, makes a difference.

But if it's not Cunard I don't think there'll be a problem.

JB :)

JB there are a few other cruise lines that we sail (in addition to Cunard) that on a formal night the top half does matter. ;p

Keith

Have to say that even on P&O with its "Butlins crowd" (as described by another Cruiser) the formal nights were pretty much adhered to. Having a look round I didnt see anyone in grey trousers only black so I thought maybe i'm dressed for a wedding lol.

I am no fashion expert. But, I do know that wearing a black "tuxedo" jacket with anything other than matching black tuxedo pants will only serve to make fellow passengers think you packed your suitcase in the dark and made a mistake. Of course, grey slacks with a blue or black blazer would be fine for "prom night" on any mass market ship.

Sent from my iPhone using Forums

This could be the answer I was looking for.

Because there is virtually no enforced dress code anywhere other than Cunard, you will have enough of your body covered to get seated in any MDR.