Confused about trip insur...

kayjay76

Hi all,

I am completely confused with choosing an insurance and exactly how it works if we get hurt on the ship and need to see the doctor or if God forbid need an evac off the ship. I am a complete novice when  it comes to travel insurance and the terms so any straight forward advice would be great.....

Primary is my regular health insurance we carry and secondary is the trip insur right?

I am not overly concerned with cancellation of trip. What I'm most interested in is medical and evac. My husband, 51 had a heart attack this summer and we will be on a 7 night eastern carb. cruise in Feb 2019 ( nassua, tortola, st Thomas). He's ok now but it puts the fear in you about it happening again. 

Is this considered a pre existing  condition?

So if he needed to see the doctor on board for any reason... do we pay out of pocket then get reimbursed the cost from trip insurance?

Our regular health insurance does not cover ship drs correct? Or how about evacs off the ship?

I'm usually pretty good with this stuff but my brain just can't wrap its self around travel insurance lol. Our health insurance is great as it's offered to state workers in Mass, GIC Indemnity plan.

NCL is offering a travel essential insu plan for $25 per person. Any information or advice on this plan?  Or should I skip this and head to one of the online stores and go from there.

Thanks everyone for any simple, straight forward answers, if there are any lol!!!

Boy, do I wish it could all be straightforward and simple, but the answers to your questions are varied and possibly complex.

Insurance is a case where one really needs to research, or speak with a qualified individual to answer the specific question that apply to you.  Any of the oft-mentioned brokers can help you.