Shore trips Norwegian Fjords

Hilaryb55

Hi 

I am going in Iona to Norwegian Fjords Sept 2020.  My first ever cruise so total novice at all, this As I am guessing it will be quite cold I will be wearing my jacket but what do I need to take ashore eg umbrella gloves etc. Also as long has it has a lock in it is a small rucksack safe to use for shore trips or would I  be better with a across body bag? 

Layers are the answer for the Fjords. 

We have been caught out by beautiful sunshine as well as snowstorms, so gloves, brolly etc are a good idea. 

We use a rucksack for going ashore without issues. 

Norway feels like a safe place, but it doesn't hurt to be cautious. 

The Fjords are stunning and the ports are beautiful so be prepared to take it all in. 

Have a fantastic time, I am sure you will. 

Andy 

In September, if you're sticking to the southern half of Norway (as most cruises do) then it shouldn't be bitterly cold, and you probably won't need gloves unless you have poor circulation in your hands. Temperatures are likely to be similar to what you'd expect at that time of year in northern Scotland. You'll probably need a jacket or at least a woolly, and are almost sure to have rain at some point.

And in addition to the layers of clothing remember the smelling salts for the first time you try and buy something in Norway - if you have not been there before then be prepared as it is very, very expensive.

It is also very safe and friendly so using a rucksack has never been a problem for us.

There is a handy section here on CC for port information if you want an idea of what to do in each port.

The folks on here are a helpful bunch so just ask about anything you are unsure of and someone will be able to help.

And to add to Eglesbrech's advice - and thinking back to your security concerns: