Just off Horizon - First B2B Cruise

Terab85

Little background about us.  I'm 54 years old and semi retired (I worked as a sub for after school program, but with covid, I was in no rush to go back to work).  Traveling with my DH who is 52.  We were cruising with friends that we had met on a 2015 cruise on the Liberty and this will be our 5th cruise with them.  I haven't done a trip report in years, I didn't take notes so I'm going from memory (*lol*)  and I'm far from a decent writer, so bear with me.  

We were on the Carnival Horizon from September 22 - October 2, 2021 doing our first ever B2B cruise.  I was going to try and do this live but just never found the time.  For this cruise, we had to do the 2 day testing. We were originally planning to get tested Wednesday and leave early Thursday morning from north Georgia and drive straight to Miami.  With the new change, we had scheduled 8:15am & 8:30am appointments and then planned to get on the road and stop in Orlando for the night before continuing to Miami on Friday morning.  We kept hearing about appointments being cancelled at the last minute and people scrambling to find a new location.  With that said, DH ordered the proctored at home tests which we received that Wednesday morning.  DH got up on Thursday morning at 3:00am and was done by 3:15am and I was done by 3:30am both being negative.  If Carnival continues to require the 2 day test, we will do the at home tests again.  We ended up getting on the road by 4:30am and took our time.  Since we had planned to stop in Orlando, we kept those reservations. We ended up staying at the Fairfield Inn & Suites Orlando near Universal.  We picked this one because one, it was free (we used points) and two, it was close to the turnpike.  The hotel was nice but definitely older and in need of some TLC.  We ate at the Miller Ale House and toasted that after 6 cancelled cruises, we were finally getting back on a ship.  The food & service were great.