South Georgia - Avian Bird Flu

machotspur

Some sad news has reached us on Silver Endeavour last night . Avian Bird Flu has reached South Georgia - one of the most remote and environmentally protected locations on the planet. 

It has been found on around 40% of landing sites on the north side of the island. Our planned landings for our final day have therefore been pulled. 

We have just received some bad news regarding our substitute landing - Peggoty Bay - Shackleton’s landing site on the south side. The crew advanced landing has identified presence of Avian Bird Flu, with dead birds evident. The landing has therefore been cancelled. The plan is for us now to view the sites from zodiacs.

I’m no expert but it’s not looking good in South Georgia, both for the bird population and cruise visits. Those familiar with the island will be aware of the huge populations of various species existing here.

Not wishing to be alarmist but I suspect a full lockdown will not be far away.

• Like 2
  • Thanks 3

Before the season started, some scientists discussed closing the entire region down to tourism, do to the dire consequences on the bird flu spreading.  Sadly, when this reaches Antarctica, it is likely to wipe out many colonies of penguins, seals, birds, etc.  This is also compounded With most hatchlings from last year being born to late because of too much snow, and not surviving.  

I would not be surprised is this is the last year for a while landing are allowed in the region.  Heard they are also discussing shutting them down mid season if conditions change.  

• Thanks 1

On 11/8/2023 at 4:42 AM, machotspur said:

Some sad news has reached us on Silver Endeavour last night . Avian Bird Flu has reached South Georgia - one of the most remote and environmentally protected locations on the planet. 

It has been found on around 40% of landing sites on the north side of the island. Our planned landings for our final day have therefore been pulled.