Drink Cards-Info Please

So I have seen a post here and there about pre paid drink cards(alcohol). Some say this was something Royal offered in the past but no longer offers. I spoke to a friend last night and she said she saw something about it in the current newsletter. I do not have one becasue I am a newbie. First cruise was a few weeks ago. So could some of you that are more experienced please give your opinion or check the newsletter. Does this maybe only work on some ships or maybe on longer cruises?

Thanks in advance!

Jenn

I double checked the info from my TA. $59 per person per day is what she told me - only for groups of 50 or more! Could people in my group drink 12 beers in a whole day??? Yep!! Do they always do it - nope!! That's why I don't think this is any kind of deal! My TA told me that Norwegian has a much better drink package - don't know about any other cruise lines.

On my first cruise on The Explorer in 2002, drink cards were offered. I don't remember the exact price, but they were something like $40 for 12 drinks. You were able to buy as many as you wanted throughout the cruise. My son and his friend were on that cruise and got friendly with all the bartenders. Certain bartenders were "selling" them the same cards under the table for $20. My son and his friend kept getting them for our whole group. My son's friend went through 7 himself!!! I'm sure this is one of the reasons why they don't offer them anymore!!:eek:

I've heard here and there on the boards about a non alcoholic smoothie card good for so many smoothies a cruise, for the teenagers. Anybody have any knowledge of this? My kids sure would love to have one.

E-Beth

Yes, E-Beth, here is a link to some info:http://www.royalcaribbean.com/content/pdf/Adventure_Ocean_Fact_Sheet.pdf (scroll down to the bottom)

if they did offer a drink card at 59 pp per day that would be like 12 beers a day. do people really drink this much on a ship? i drink but i only have maybe four at the most