Which route is preferred?

Mary&Jim

Good morning everyone,

This is my first cruise to Alaska and I am just beginning to research our options. My first question (of many, I'm sure) is there a preferred route when cruising Alaska, ie. northbound vs. southbound? Does it matter?

Thanks in advance for any input.

Mary & Jim

First of all - do you have any extra time to tour interior Alaska before or after a one-way cruise? I've done 2 northbound cruises followed by an independent land trip - and I loved the "wow" factor of cruising north. If you only have time for a 7-night cruise, then I would suggest a roundtrip out of Vancouver. Holland America Zuiderdam (Sat.) and Volendam (Wed.) have an excellent itinerary, going to Ketchikan, Juneau, Skagway, Glacier Bay, and Tracy Arm Fjord.

If you are doing a land tour in conjunction with your cruise, as we did, we chose Southbound as the tour is more rigorous (up early, moving around) and the cruise at the end much more relaxing. Also the flight home is shorter!

That's why I'm doing the interior first. With all the flying and traveling and packing and unpacking and staying in less than stellar places for a night or two, I figured that it would be nicest to be able to unpack for seven days and relax on the same comfy bed every night to end things.

I have done both directions several times, and there are pluses to both.

I am NOT inagreement that a land tour should be so hectic like the decriptions above, but this is a fact of many cruisetours. IF going independent, I am always a clear advocate of suggesting itineraries to avoid this type of touring in interior Alaska. My trips never have the above descriptions and my pace is about the same on both segments.

The plus of a soundbound cruise for me, is the daylight sailing of Inside Vancouver Island, which is sailed at night on the northbound. Compare everything, port times, day of travel etc. Then pick one. :)