Is Capri worth it?

lula58

Has anyone taken the 8 hr excursion to Capri through Celebrity? It will cost $300 for the 2 of us and we were wondering if it is worth it. Also is the trip across very rough? Can you tell this is our 1st cruise? I keep asking all kinds of questions. :confused:

I assume the trip across the water is from either Napoli or Sorrento or both. I went over from Napoli once and the boat stopped to pick up more pax at Sorrento.

I've seen it rough. Didn't bother me but I saw some seasick paisani out there. Hey, it's the open Mediterranean for a few miles. You get on a craft or ship and you take your chances. I'm sure there are calmer days as well.

I have no experience with a cruise sponsored excursion. I went down to the pier and booked one myself. The last time was about 20 years ago.

How bad could it be? The price does sound a bit steep, however.

We visited Capri while on another cruise line. That being said, I remember the boat ride over as being lovely but a little choppy once we got close to the island. However, it was worth every second because the beauty of Capri is still vivid in my memory! My teenage daughter and I decided this was an excursion we could do on our own, and we were so glad we did. The colors, the water, the boats, the homes on the rocks...so picturesque! One of the best experiences was taking the chairlift up to the top of the island...unbelievable views! As you can tell, I would recommend a trip to Capri. BTW...Anacapri is the area on Capri that is up higher on the island...if I am not mistaken?!