Why Panama Canal?

mrsalexb

I just booked our next cruise with Princess for a 10 day Southern Caribbean. However, I noticed that there are so many 10 day cruises to the Panama canal. What is so special about this itenarary? I looked at some images online and it looks like a continuation of the western caribbean itenarary... IMHO compared to eastern or southern caribbean...not that impressive. Am I missing something? Please let me know.

BTW - Not trying to upset anyone with my internet surfing based observations.

Well for me as a child I studied the Panama Canal and thought the history was amazing about all the building. I always wanted to go see how it operated and never really thought I would be able to so this is that opprotunity and get to see other countires at the same time.

I just booked our next cruise with Princess for a 10 day Southern Caribbean. However, I noticed that there are so many 10 day cruises to the Panama canal. What is so special about this itenarary? I looked at some images online and it looks like a continuation of the western caribbean itenarary... IMHO compared to eastern or southern caribbean...not that impressive. Am I missing something? Please let me know.

If you have ever watched PBS or other documentaries on the Panama Canal, some of the technical stuff didn't make sense, and then you go through the canal and they narate it and you start really understanding.

We sailed the Panama canal from San Diego to Fort Lauderdale. Before we sailed we read and watched video's on the canal love the idea. I'm not crazy on some of the ports we stopped at but love Aruba. The history and purpose of the canal be part of it. Don't miss it. To see sights like the sight below from Paris,57434.jpg France priceless.

And no Paris will not be seen on the canal just an example of the sights around the world