What makes a great cruise experience?

Hi there,

I am a researcher in Australia and am interested in understanding a little bit about your presonal cruising experiences.

Can anyone share their feelings and thoughts on what makes a good port and port city? To be specific, once you step off the boat for a day trip in a particular, what are you looking for at the port? It could be anything, maybe really good visitor information on where to go and what to do, shops, helpful staff, anything!

Does anyone have examples of ports that are catering to cruise passengers well?

Thanks,

M

Thanks theid. What is it about the ports in particular that you enjoy? Is there any that stand out as particularly memorable? Why was that?
lets see....

just the fact that it is some where new to visit.

[/font

My vote would go to all the NZ ports. The local tourism authorities have free buses to take you into the centre...plenty of tours at really good prices...info on the port at the dock as well as welcomes etc. They do it all really really well.

The broader question what makes a good cruise...honestly for me it is the roll call...all my most memorable cruises have been enhanced through the company and great information, tours etc. organised by other members of the roll call...such good fun.