Blu Review - Reflection 1/18/14

Alsmez

We just returned from a wonderful 7-night cruise on Reflection in Aqua Class, so I thought I'd take a moment to share the Blu menus with you (attached here as a PDF, in the order we ate them), as well as my review of our Blu experience. We have sailed with Celebrity once before, in 2011 on Equinox. We ate in the MDR for most of that cruise, and I reviewed it extensively here: http://boards.cruisecritic.com/showthread.php?t=1366193 The MDR was a bit of a disappointment then, which definitely influenced our decision to try Aqua Class and Blu this time around. We also ate at the Lawn Club Grill, Tuscan Grill and The Porch on this trip, as well as the buffet and snacks at various locations around the ship (all of which have been reviewed separately and linked below).

Talking about and critiquing food is one of my favorite hobbies, so I apologize in advance for the length of this review. A bit about me: I am an avid cook, read food blogs/magazines religiously, make my own cheese, bread and sausage, and I’ve taken courses in pastry and sugar art. We live in NYC, so we are privileged to be surrounded by some of the world’s finest restaurants, as well as really fantastic ethnic foods. I realize that everyone’s standards for food are different, and I know mine are high. However, since Celebrity has a reputation for being a cut above in the cuisine department, and they advertise a higher-end experience, I feel that they should be held to a high standard! I received a call from them after our Equinox cruise regarding my feedback on the food, so I hope they will read and respond to this review as well.