Help with voom please

goldgirl2

My sister has suffered a serious stroke. I will need to keep in contact with my family. My phone is through Verizon. I will need to send and receive texts and phone calls. I will be on Freedom. I have no knowledge of using voom. What are my best and least expensive options?

Sent from my iPhone using Forums

Simple solution. I have Verizon too.

Get the wifi package. Keep your phone in airplane mode and connect to the ships wifi.

Go to your iPhone settings, then choose "phone" and turn on your "wifi calling". It's totally free. You can do this in advance, I leave mine on all the time. My reception at home isn't great and my wifi strengthens my reception)

You will now be able to make/receive calls and texts for free just like you're at home. Wifi calling can go in and out based on the wifi signal strength but I had cell phone usage on Harmony about 80% of the time.

Ive done this all over the world on wifi with no charges. The key is keeping your phone in airplane mode.

You can practice at home by making sure wifi calling is on (do this before putting in airplane mode) putting airplane mode on and then connecting to your home wifi. You will see you can use your phone as normal with no cell signal.

VOOM is just a fancy name for Wi-Fi on Rccl ships that is allegedly fast. Anyway, you can purchase a package through your planner. Sometimes they run a special with a drink package. If it goes down in price, cancel and repurchase. Your original purchase will be refunded.

Always put your cellphone in airplane mode to prevent roaming charges, no matter your carrier. While in airplane mode, connect to Wi-Fi and follow the instructions for logging on. You will provided with this info.