Wine Package

jgrahamiii

Hi guys.  I have read about the wine package - buy 7 bottles for $31 and enjoy 7 bottles up to $45, or something like that.  We have a 7 night cruise coming up on the Island, and I  I understand it may be available first night even on this length cruise, though not available on-line in advance.  I just had a question on how wine works.  This is my first time on Princess and not a lot of cruising before, mostly of the river variety.   I suppose the question applies to wine in general, not just to the package.

We likely will drink 7 bottles on the cruise, but sometimes we want different wines for a particular meal, or want some white and some red and won't finish both bottles.  If we purchase this package, can we order two bottles (a red and a white) on the same night, not drink all of either, and have these bottles stored and available the next night to finish?  Even if we go to a specialty restaurant one night, and a traditional seating the next?  Or do we have to take them to go, and then bring them back the next night?  Thanks for any help. -John

I believe the wine package is only offered on cruises of at least 10 days.

You can have one or more bottles open at the end of dinner and the waitstaff will hold them to the next night. If you have traditional, they will usually have the bottle(s) waiting when you arrive. My wife likes white and I like red, so we often have 1 or 2 open bottles.

On our last two cruises (October, '18, April, '19) they were not actively selling the packages.  I asked the MDR wait staff and they hooked me up with the front MDR personnel who did the transaction after the embarkation lunch. So, I would advise you to ask right away if you do not see anyone selling the package.  It worked quite well with us on a 28 day and 15 day cruise, respectively.